DietGluten-freeIs Popcorn Gluten-Free?

Is Popcorn Gluten-Free?

Must Try

David Larsenhttps://betony-nyc.com
I’m a husband, dad, food blogger, photographer, writer, social media boss, entrepreneur.

Popcorn is the easiest snack you can lay your hands on. It’s very simple to make as long as you have a kernel type of corn. However, popcorn is not 100% gluten-free.

If you are gluten intolerant or have other complications like celiac disease and wheat allergy, watch out. If you have these complications, then having gluten can lead to headaches, intestinal damage, and even bloating.

Corn which is used to make popcorn, doesn’t contain gluten. Corn products are very safe for people who cannot get along with gluten. It’s also a safe alternative for wheat if you have celiac disease. However, corn also has proteins called maize prolamins which is not suitable if you have celiac disease or zero tolerance to gluten.

What Popcorn Brands are Gluten-Free?

Many gluten-free popcorn brands are edible in snack form, plain kernels, and also microwavable popcorn. Some of the popcorn brands that are gluten-free include;

1.   Arrowhead Mills

It produces different gluten-free grain products and mixes. It has white and yellow popping kernels that are gluten-free certified.

2.   Angie’s BOOMCHIKAPOP

It makes ready-to-eat popcorn in a variety of flavors. They are all certified gluten-free by a gluten-free certification organization, which requires foods to ensure they contain less gluten. They are also non-GMO and use natural colors and flavors.

3.   Black Jewell Popcorn

This is a black popcorn kernel that pops fluffy corn the hull attached. It also makes microwavable popcorn product lines that include butter, natural, sweet, and salty kettle and has no salt or oil. Their products are pure popcorn and gluten-free.

4.   SkinnyPop Popcorn

This brand produces ready-to-eat bagged popcorn, popcorn puffs, microwavable popcorn, and popcorn cakes.  It produces this popcorn in many different flavors. The products are gluten-free and non-GMO

5.   Pop-Secret

This brand makes a variety of microwavable popcorn flavors. It’s a home-style product that combines a light touch of butter and salt. The brand also sells kernels for popping.

6.   Skinnygirl Popcorn

Skinnygirl popcorn partners with Orville Redenbacher to signify low-calorie food and beverages have produced low-calorie microwavable popcorn. This brand comes in two flavors which include lime and salt, then butter and sea salt. They are gluten-free.

7.   Orville Redenbacher’s

This brand came in a wide variety of microwavable, ready-to-eat flavors and jarred. This popcorn brand also brags as the real butter. Some of the microwavable products include butter flavors, sweet and savory flavors. These flavors are natural and contain real ingredients with less oil and low calories. They are gluten-free.

8.   Jiffy Pop

You can use your campfire to make this popcorn brand. You use a heavy-gauge aluminum pan with a pan to pop the corn. It’s also a gluten-free brand.

9.   Jolly Time

Jolly time pop is gluten-free from wheat, rye, barley, and oats. Although the brand contains corn gluten, you don’t have to worry if you are gluten-sensitive because microwavable flavor providers ensure their flavoring is gluten-free.

10. Great Northern Popcorn Company

The company sells both flavored and unflavored popcorn varieties with poppers to consumers and concessionaires at movie theaters and fairs. Their products are gluten-free.

11. Bob’s Red Mill

This brand offers ready-to-pop yellow and white kernels. The brand has a separate facility to prepare gluten-free products to protect customers from cross-contamination.

Is all Popcorn Gluten-free?

Not all, but most popcorn is gluten-free. This is because corn which you can use to make them doesn’t contain gluten. However, the maize prolamins protein with some gluten and can cause gluten intolerance and people experiencing celiac disease.

Despite most of the popcorn being naturally gluten-free, some commercial brands contain this protein. Popcorn may get at risk of getting gluten because of the manufacturing facility and certain additives containing gluten.

How to Check Your Popcorn is Gluten-Free

Checking for gluten-free popcorn is very easy, especially if you are sensitive to gluten. Ensure you choose popcorn without additives and flavorings. Read the ingredient list and choose the product listed as popcorn and contain corn kernels and salt only. You can also choose a product that is labeled as certified gluten-free.

You won’t have any problem checking if popcorn is gluten-free because there are laws stipulated by the Food and Drug Administration that require manufacturers to indicate their common food allergens on the label.

Also, don’t forget to directly reach out to companies to require their processing practices, specific product ingredients, and how they control cross-contamination.

Homemade Gluten-Free Popcorn Recipe

Ingredients

  • Three tablespoons of coconut oil
  • ¾ cup of popcorn kernel that is organic yellow and non-GMO
  • Two tablespoons of salted butter and some for topping
  • One teaspoon of Himalayan salt
  • ¼ teaspoon of GF ground turmeric
  • Warm water one teaspoon
  • Add taste by using GF coarse ground black pepper

Instructions

  1. With your large pot over medium heat, add coconut oil and two tablespoons of butter to the pot
  2. After melting coconut oil and butter, mix turmeric and water, then stir into the mixture of hot oil
  3. Add kernels, then shake to allow it to spread evenly in your pot, then cover it. If you see corn popping, shake the pot briefly. Repeat it until you are through the halfway
  4. Melt the butter for the topping while your popcorn is still popping. You can use as little or as much butter as you like until you get satisfied
  5. Transfer your popcorn into a larger bowl immediately after the popping stops. After that, pour some melted butter over your popcorn, then sprinkle it with salt. You can also add pepper if you are a fan of pepper. Shake and then toss until your popcorn is coated.
  6. What are you waiting for! Serve immediately and enjoy your snack

As you can see, popcorn is a whole grain meal containing very important nutrients, including minerals, vitamins, and fiber. It is also high in polyphenol antioxidants which protects your body cells from free radical damage.

High fiber also reduces the risk of heart problems, obesity, and Type 2 diabetes. You can also grab popcorn if you want to lose weight. This is because it contains low calories, low energy density, and high fiber, which are good at weight loss.

FAQS

Is Poppin Microwave Popcorn Gluten-Free?

Yes, it’s gluten-free. This is the kind of snack you can enjoy with a whole bunch of your loved ones. It’s a crunchy snack that comes from Australian corn kernels combined with some butter.

You can make your own at home using a microwave, cook it for some minutes, and then enjoy your warmly freshly popped popcorn. Very suitable when you decide to remain indoors with your loved ones.

Is Caramel Popcorn Gluten-free?

Yes, it’s naturally gluten-free. It is very warm and fresh when you make your own at home. Some of the tastes you can get from homemade caramel corn include crunchy, sweet, and buttery.

You can also use organic popcorn, sugar, butter, and agave syrup if you want that extra special treat.

Is White Cheddar Popcorn Gluten-Free?

White cheddar popcorn is gluten-free. It’s also kosher and doesn’t contain artificial colors, flavors, sweetness, and preservatives.

It’s the cheesy version of popcorn snack bags. It has a crunchy and savory taste. Grab one and enjoy your moment, whether you are at work or even enjoying games.

Is Whole Grain Popcorn Gluten-Free?

Well, whole grain popcorn is gluten-free, just like other popcorn. And it’s indicated on its label. So before you buy whole grain popcorn, ensure you read the label to be certain that it’s indeed gluten-free.

Corn is a grain, and just like other grains, it can be refined, but popcorn cannot be refined. However, manufacturers are required to put a whole grain label on them.

Is Kirkland Popcorn Gluten-Free?

Yes, it’s gluten-free and contains other natural butter and other natural flavors, movie theatre butter, whole grain popcorn, and kosher.

Is Movie Theatre Popcorn Gluten-Free?

Most of the popcorn you can find in Movie Theater is gluten-free. So don’t fret if you are gluten intolerant because the best place you can have gluten-free food is the movie theater.

They use popped gluten-free corn. Also, many movie theatre chains use the same suppliers, so any of their popcorn is gluten-free. You can also go ahead and call the theater and ask if they provide gluten-free popcorn. If you can’t reach them, then you can bring your gluten-free popcorn.

Is Smartfood Popcorn Gluten-Free?

These are cheese-flavored popcorn that is gluten-free. The popcorn only contains vegetable oil, cheddar cheese, and buttermilk, salt, and whey protein.

It’s also free from trans-fat and soy. However, not all smartfood popcorn flavors are gluten-free. Ensure you carefully check their packaging and review their nutritional information for each product on the company’s website.

Is Orville Redenbacher Popcorn Gluten-Free?

This is a well-known popcorn brand that uses real butter. Popcorn here comes in various varieties such as microwavable, ready-to-eat flavors, and jarred. All their popcorn varieties are gluten-free.

Conclusion

You can consider making your popcorn at home since many of their independent brands are already labeled gluten-free. You don’t need to buy popcorn products from outside stores to avoid gluten. As you visit your movie theater, order popcorn that lacks butter flavor and topping.

Related: Is Peanut Butter Gluten-free?

Easy Homemade Gluten-free Popcorn Recipe

Easy Homemade Gluten-free Popcorn Recipe

Yield: 8
Prep Time: 2 minutes
Cook Time: 6 minutes
Total Time: 8 minutes

Popcorn is the easiest snack you can lay your hands on. It’s very simple to make as long as you have a kernel type of corn. However, popcorn is not 100% gluten-free. If you are gluten intolerant or have other complications like celiac disease and wheat allergy, watch out. If you have these complications, then having gluten can lead to headaches, intestinal damage, and even bloating.

Ingredients

  • Three tablespoons of coconut oil
  • ¾ cup of popcorn kernel that is organic yellow and non-GMO
  • Two tablespoons of salted butter and some for topping
  • One teaspoon of Himalayan salt
  • ¼ teaspoon of GF ground turmeric
  • Warm water one teaspoon
  • Add taste by using GF coarse ground black pepper

Instructions

  1. With your large pot over medium heat, add coconut oil and two tablespoons of butter to the pot
  2. After melting coconut oil and butter, mix turmeric and water, then stir into the mixture of hot oil
  3. Add kernels, then shake to allow it to spread evenly in your pot, then cover it. If you see corn popping, shake the pot briefly. Repeat it until you are through the halfway
  4. Melt the butter for the topping while your popcorn is still popping. You can use as little or as much butter as you like until you get satisfied
  5. Transfer your popcorn into a larger bowl immediately after the popping stops. After that, pour some melted butter over your popcorn, then sprinkle it with salt. You can also add pepper if you are a fan of pepper. Shake and then toss until your popcorn is coated.
  6. What are you waiting for! Serve immediately and enjoy your snack
Nutrition Information

Amount Per Serving Calories 167Total Fat 11gSaturated Fat 9gSodium 1mgCarbohydrates 15gFiber 3gSugar 1gProtein 2g

Did you make this recipe?

Please leave a comment on the blog or share a photo on Pinterest

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Recipes

Featured on

spot_img

More Recipes Like This

Skip to Recipe